HPOU PAC endorses . . .

IN CASE YOU HAVEN’T NOTICED, THE YEAR 2020 has been unlike any other. Not only is there the coronavirus pandemic but also a sometimes-disconcerting effort to defund police departments across Texas and the nation.

With Mayor Turner’s leadership up to this point and his success at getting unanimous consent to HPD budget increases and funding for five cadet classes, we don’t have to worry as much as our brothers and sisters in other cities. However, HPOU’s Political Action Committee is only endorsing candidates whose records show they have fully supported us. Furthermore, the PAC has not taken a stand for any candidate who did not contact us to request an endorsement.  Because this is a deviation from our normal procedures, there may be many other candidates out there who want our support and support us.  We are still considering candidates as this article is written so there will be an updated list posted prior to election day at HPOU.org.

The turnout on Nov. 3 is bound to be high since this is a presidential election year. While the Texas governor, lieutenant governor and some state senators are not on this ballot, the names of every state representative candidate from the Greater Houston area do appear. The PAC has taken great care to make sure each of these endorsements have supported us in the past and we have no reason to doubt their future support.  The next legislative session that starts in January is sure to be like no other.

Our endorsements as of the writing of this article are as follows: Printable HPOU PAC List

Mary Nan Huffman (R), Harris County District Attorney

Judge Bert Richardson (R), Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

Judge David Newell (R), Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

Justice Russell Lloyd (R), 1st Court of Appeals

Judge Ken Wise (R), 14th Court of Appeals

Judge Daryl Moore (D), 333rd District Court

Judge Michael Landrum (R), 164th District Court

Candidate Bruce Bain (R), 165th Civil District Court

Candidate Arlene Hecht (R), 351st District Court

Judge Maggie Jaramillo (R), 400th District Court (Fort Bend County)

Judicial Candidate Vince Santini (R), 457th District Court (Montgomery County)

Ed Gonzalez (D), Harris County Sheriff

Eric Fagan (D), Fort Bend County Sheriff

Alan Rosen (D), Pct. 1 Constable

Mark Herman (R), Pct. 4 Constable

Ted Heap (R), Pct. 5 Constable

Sylvia Trevino (D), Pct. 6 Constable

May Walker (D), Pct. 7 Constable

Phil Sandlin (R), Pct. 8 Constable

Chris Jones (R), Pct. 5 Constable (Montgomery County)

Candidate Chris Daniel (R), Harris County Tax Assessor

Candidate Stan Stanart (R), Harris County Clerk

Candidate Tom Ramsey (R), Harris County Commissioner

Lincoln Goodwin (R), Harris County JP

State Rep. Candidate Justin Berry (R) District 47

State Rep. Candidate Linda Koop (R) District 102

State Rep. Candidate Will Douglas (R) District 113

State Rep. Sam Harless (R) District 126

State Rep. Dan Huberty (R) District 127

State Rep. Dennis Paul (R) District 129

State Rep. Tom Oliverson (R) District 130

State Rep. Jim Murphy (R) District 133

State Rep. Rep Candidate Justin Ray (R) District 135

State Rep. Ana Hernandez (D) District 143

State Rep. Christina Morales (D) District 145

State Rep. Shawn Thierry (D) District 146